"Shopify costs A$56 a month on Basic in Australia (A$42 billed yearly), up to A$575 on Advanced, and from A$3,700 on Shopify Plus. Every plan price and card fee here was read from shopify.com/au on 26 September 2026, with a A$100 sale worked out on each plan, GST explained, and sourced Australian ranges for apps, themes, developers and agencies."
Key Takeaways
- 1Shopify pricing in Australia: Basic A$56, Grow A$149 and Advanced A$575 a month paid monthly, or A$42, A$114 and A$431 a month paid yearly. Shopify Plus starts at A$3,700 a month on a 3-year term (shopify.com/au, checked 26 September 2026).
- 2Card fees with Shopify Payments start at 1.7% + 30c per domestic online sale on Basic and fall to 1.15% + 30c on Plus. A A$100 sale costs A$2.00 in fees on Basic.
- 3Use a third-party payment provider and Shopify adds its own fee on top: 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced and 0.2% on Plus.
- 4Shopify charges 10% GST on your subscription and shipping labels unless you are GST-registered and add your ABN to your Shopify billing profile.
- 5Upgrading from Basic to Grow pays for itself on card fees alone at about A$48,000 a month in domestic online card sales (yearly billing). Most reasons to upgrade earlier are features, not fees.
- 6Published Australian market ranges: A$50 to A$250 an hour for a Shopify developer, A$10,000 to A$50,000 for an agency-built store, and A$30,000 to A$100,000 or more for a Shopify Plus build (Webential and WP Creative, May 2026). These are not FactoryJet prices.
By Bhavesh Barot, Founder and CEO | Shopify prices and fees checked on shopify.com/au and help.shopify.com on 26 September 2026 | 17 min read
Quick answer
Shopify pricing in Australia starts at A$56 a month for the Basic plan (A$42 a month if you pay yearly), then A$149 for Grow and A$575 for Advanced. Shopify Plus starts at A$3,700 a month. On every card sale, Shopify Payments takes 1.7% + 30c on Basic. Apps, a theme and developer help are the costs that vary most.
If you are planning a Shopify store in Australia, the plan price is the easy number. What decides your real cost is everything around it: the card fee on each sale, whether you pay Shopify's extra fee for using another payment provider, GST on your bill, the apps you add, and who builds the store.
We read every Shopify number in this guide from Shopify's own Australian pricing pages and help centre on 26 September 2026. That matters, because several popular Australian guides still show older card rates, or a Starter plan that no longer appears on Shopify's Australian pricing page. For costs Shopify does not set, such as developers, agencies, themes and apps, we quote published Australian market ranges and name the source and month next to each one.
One thing to be clear about: the developer and agency ranges below are market ranges, not our prices. We are FactoryJet, a registered Shopify Partner that has worked in commerce since 2014 and served more than 500 businesses, and we quote every build as a fixed scope after a conversation, not from a price list.
Shopify pricing in Australia: the four plans in AUD
Shopify's Australian pricing page lists four plans. You can pay monthly, or pay for a year up front and save about a quarter. Here is what each one costs, straight from shopify.com/au/pricing on 26 September 2026.
| Plan | Paid monthly | Paid yearly (per month) | Cost for 12 months, paid yearly | Staff accounts | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | A$56 | A$42 | A$504 | No extra staff accounts listed | New stores and solo founders |
| Grow | A$149 | A$114 | A$1,368 | Up to 5 | Small teams with steady sales |
| Advanced | A$575 | A$431 | A$5,172 | Up to 15 | High volume and international selling |
| Plus | From A$4,000 (1-year term) | From A$3,700 (3-year term) | From A$44,400 | Unlimited | Complex, B2B and multi-store brands |
Source: Shopify Australia pricing and Shopify Plus pricing pages, read 26 September 2026. Shopify does not state on the pricing page whether these AUD prices include GST. See the GST section below.
A few details that change what you actually pay:
- Trial: Shopify offers 3 days free, then A$1 a month for the first 3 months on most plans, before normal pricing starts.
- No setup fee:Shopify's pricing FAQ says there are no setup fees on any plan.
- Hosting is included: every plan includes hosting, unlimited bandwidth and a free SSL certificate (the padlock that makes your site secure), so you do not buy hosting separately.
- POS Pro is extra:if you run a physical shop and want Shopify's advanced retail tools, POS Pro costs A$129 a month per location on top of your plan.
- Marketplace orders: the first 50 orders a month synced from marketplaces are free. After that, Shopify charges 1%, capped at US$99 a month.
- What about the Starter plan?Some guides still list a Starter plan of about A$7 a month for social selling. It does not appear on Shopify's Australian pricing page as of 26 September 2026, so do not plan around it.
Shopify fees in Australia: every card rate by plan
When a customer pays by card through Shopify Payments, Shopify takes a card processing fee out of the sale before it pays you. The rate depends on your plan and the type of card. If you use a different payment provider instead, Shopify charges a separate third-party transaction fee on top of that provider's own fee.
| Fee (AUD) | Basic | Grow | Advanced | Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online, standard card | 1.7% + 30c | 1.55% + 30c | 1.35% + 30c | 1.15% + 30c |
| Online, Amex | 2.9% + 30c | 2.8% + 30c | 2.7% + 30c | 2.6% + 30c |
| Online, international card | 3.5% + 30c | 3.4% + 30c | 3.3% + 30c | 3.2% + 30c |
| In person (card reader) | 1.85% | 1.75% | 1.65% | 1.45% |
| Third-party transaction fee (if not using Shopify Payments) | 2% | 1% | 0.6% | 0.2% |
Source: the plan comparison table on shopify.com/au/pricing, read 26 September 2026. In-person rates have no fixed 30c part.
What those words mean in plain English:
- Shopify Paymentsis Shopify's own card processor. In Australia it accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express and UnionPay, and shops using Shopify POS can also take EFTPOS cards in person (Shopify help centre).
- Card fees come out of your payout.Shopify's help centre says Shopify Payments card fees are deducted from your payouts, not added to your monthly Shopify bill (types of charges).
- Payouts arrive in AUD. The minimum settlement time in Australia is 2 business days, and it is longer when you first start (payouts in Australia).
- The third-party transaction fee is charged on the order total, including tax and shipping, when a customer pays through another provider. It is not refunded if you refund the order (third-party transaction fees).
How much does Shopify take from a A$100 sale?
This is the most asked Shopify cost question in Australia. Here is the fee on a single A$100 order, worked out from the rates above. It is the card fee only, before your plan, apps or shipping.
| How the customer pays | Basic | Grow | Advanced | Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australian Visa or Mastercard, online | A$2.00 | A$1.85 | A$1.65 | A$1.45 |
| Amex, online | A$3.20 | A$3.10 | A$3.00 | A$2.90 |
| International card, online | A$3.80 | A$3.70 | A$3.60 | A$3.50 |
| Card tapped in store | A$1.85 | A$1.75 | A$1.65 | A$1.45 |
| Third-party provider (Shopify's fee only) | A$2.00 + provider fee | A$1.00 + provider fee | A$0.60 + provider fee | A$0.20 + provider fee |
The last row is the one that surprises people. On Basic, a store that takes cards through another provider pays Shopify A$2.00 on a A$100 sale andthe provider's own processing fee. That is why Shopify Payments is the cheaper choice for most Australian stores, and why the jump from 2% to 1% is often the real reason a store moves from Basic to Grow.

When does a bigger Shopify plan pay for itself?
Higher plans cost more each month but take a smaller cut of each sale. So there is a sales level where the lower fee covers the higher plan price. We worked it out from Shopify's Australian prices, for domestic online card sales through Shopify Payments. The 30c part is the same on every plan, so only the percentage matters.
| Upgrade | Extra plan cost a month (yearly billing) | Card fee saving | Monthly card sales where it breaks even |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic to Grow | A$72 | 0.15% | About A$48,000 |
| Basic to Grow, paid monthly | A$93 | 0.15% | About A$62,000 |
| Grow to Advanced | A$317 | 0.2% | About A$158,500 |
| Advanced to Plus (3-year term) | A$3,269 | 0.2% | About A$1.63 million |
| Basic to Grow, using a third-party provider | A$72 | 1% (2% down to 1%) | About A$7,200 |
Our calculation: extra monthly plan cost divided by the fee saving. Prices from shopify.com/au/pricing and shopify.com/au/plus/pricing, 26 September 2026.
The honest reading of this table: on fees alone, most small Australian stores should stay on Basic for longer than they think. The good reasons to upgrade earlier are features:
- More than one person needs their own login (Grow gives up to 5 staff accounts).
- You use a third-party payment provider, where the fee drop from 2% to 1% pays back quickly.
- You want live shipping rates from carriers at checkout, which starts on Advanced.
- You sell into several countries and need to tailor your store by region (Advanced).
- You need a fully customisable checkout or unlimited B2B catalogues (Plus only).
Shopify Plus cost in Australia
Shopify Plus is the enterprise plan. According to Shopify's Australian Plus pricing page (read 26 September 2026):
- Platform fee: A$3,700 a month on a 3-year term, or A$4,000 a month on a 1-year term, for standard setups and integrations.
- Variable fee: more complex, higher-volume businesses move to a variable platform fee based on revenue and business model. Shopify asks you to contact sales for this.
- Stores: your main store and 9 expansion stores are included, for one brand. Extra stores cost A$500 a month each. Each separate brand needs its own Plus contract.
- Transaction fees: with Shopify Payments as your main gateway, third-party fees are waived. With a third-party processor as your main gateway, Shopify charges 0.20% per transaction.
- Migration: Shopify does not charge to migrate you to Plus, but custom work and data migration are your responsibility and usually need a Shopify Plus partner.
- Cancelling: on a 1-year or 3-year Plus term you can cancel when the term ends.
Shopify vs Shopify Plus at a glance
| What you need | Basic, Grow or Advanced | Shopify Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly plan (yearly billing or term) | A$42 to A$431 | From A$3,700 |
| Best online card rate | 1.35% + 30c (Advanced) | 1.15% + 30c |
| Staff accounts | Up to 15 | Unlimited |
| Checkout | Limited customisation | Fully customisable |
| B2B catalogues | Up to 3 | Unlimited |
| POS Pro locations | A$129 a month per location | 20 included, up to 200 with Shopify Payments |
| Support | 24/7 live chat (enhanced on Advanced) | Priority 24/7 phone support |
The build is usually the bigger cost than the subscription. WP Creative's May 2026 guide puts a Shopify Plus build at A$30,000 to A$100,000 or more in Australia (source). If you are weighing Plus for B2B or wholesale, our Shopify development team in Australia can tell you whether a standard plan with the right apps would do the job first.
Afterpay, Zip and PayPal: what they add to a Shopify store
Buy now, pay later (BNPL) is part of how Australians shop, so most Australian stores offer Afterpay, Zip or both. They cost more per order than cards, and they do not publish one fixed rate.
| Method | What it costs the store | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Afterpay | A fixed fee plus a percentage, set in your merchant agreement. Typical Australian market range: 4% to 6% plus 30c per order. | Afterpay (structure); KC Web Design, 2026 (range) |
| Zip | Free to join, no setup or ongoing fees. A merchant service fee (a percentage) and a flat per-transaction fee, confirmed when you apply. Zip does not publish the rate. | Zip merchant help centre |
| PayPal Express Checkout | PayPal's own fees. Shopify does not add its third-party fee on PayPal Express Checkout orders when you use Shopify Payments. | Shopify help centre |
| Shopify's third-party fee | Afterpay and Zip are not on Shopify's list of payment methods exempt from third-party transaction fees, so check your bill: on Basic that fee is 2% of the order. | Shopify help centre |
Worked example: on a A$100 Afterpay order at the 4% to 6% plus 30c market range, Afterpay's fee is A$4.30 to A$6.30. If Shopify's 2% third-party fee also applies on Basic, the total is A$6.30 to A$8.30, against A$2.00 for the same order on a card. BNPL can still be worth it if it lifts your conversion rate or order size. Test it, then look at your real fees after a month.

GST and Shopify in Australia
There are two separate GST questions, and people often mix them up.
1. GST on what Shopify charges you
Shopify's help centre says Australian stores pay 10% GST on their Shopify subscription and any shipping labels. If you are registered for GST, you can stop this by adding your ABN (your Australian Business Number): go to Settings, then Billing, then Billing profile, choose that you are GST registered and enter your ABN. The exemption only applies to bills issued after you add it, not to bills already pending (Shopify help centre).
2. GST you charge your customers
You must register for GST once your GST turnover reaches A$75,000 a year (ATO). Once registered, set your prices and tax settings in Shopify so GST is shown correctly at checkout and on invoices. Ask your accountant how your card and BNPL fees should be treated in your BAS. Market ranges quoted by agencies and developers often do not say whether GST is included, so always ask for quotes ex-GST and inc-GST.
Want a fixed quote instead of a range?
Tell us what you sell, how many products you have and which systems the store must connect to (for example Xero, MYOB or Australia Post). We will give you a written, fixed scope for the build, and tell you plainly which plan and apps you actually need.
Talk to the FounderApps, themes, domains and other Shopify running costs
Shopify does not set these prices. App developers, theme designers and domain registrars do. The ranges below are typical Australian market ranges from WP Creative's Shopify cost guide (May 2026) and Webential's Shopify development cost guide (May 2026). Neither source says whether its figures include GST.
| Cost | Typical Australian market range | How often | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Premium theme | A$300 to A$560 (WP Creative); A$100 to A$500 (Webential). Free themes cost A$0. | One-off | WP Creative, Webential, May 2026 |
| Apps and integrations | A$50 to A$500+ a month | Monthly | WP Creative, May 2026 |
| .com.au domain | About A$15 to A$20 a year | Yearly | WP Creative, May 2026 |
| Business email (for example Google Workspace) | A$8 to A$15 per user a month | Monthly | WP Creative, May 2026 |
| POS Pro (physical shops) | A$129 per location a month | Monthly | Shopify, 26 Sept 2026 |
| Maintenance retainer | From about A$2,500 a month for an agency retainer | Monthly (optional) | WP Creative, May 2026 |
Apps are where Shopify running costs grow fastest and most quietly. Common paid apps for Australian stores cover reviews, email marketing, subscriptions, loyalty, accounting sync with Xero or MYOB, and shipping with Australia Post and other couriers. Two habits keep the bill down:
- Check whether Shopify already does the job before you install an app for it.
- Every three months, open Settings, then Billing, list every app charge, and remove what you no longer use.
Shopify developer and agency costs in Australia
"How much does it cost to hire a Shopify developer?" showed up in seven of the Australian People Also Ask boxes we checked. Here are the published answers, side by side. These are market ranges, not FactoryJet prices.
| Type of work | Typical Australian market range | Source (month) |
|---|---|---|
| Hourly rate | A$50 to A$150 an hour; A$70 to A$250 an hour | Webential; WP Creative (May 2026) |
| Small theme customisation | A$500 to A$2,000 | WP Creative (May 2026) |
| Do-it-yourself store, first year | A$500 to A$1,000 | WP Creative (May 2026) |
| Basic store setup | A$1,500 to A$3,000 | Webential (May 2026) |
| Freelancer-built store | A$2,000 to A$10,000 | WP Creative (May 2026) |
| Migration to Shopify | From A$2,000 | Webential (May 2026) |
| Advanced custom development | From A$5,000 | Webential (May 2026) |
| Agency-built store | A$10,000 to A$50,000 | WP Creative (May 2026) |
| Enterprise or headless build | From A$20,000 | Webential (May 2026) |
| Shopify Plus build | A$30,000 to A$100,000+ | WP Creative (May 2026) |
Sources: WP Creative, Shopify website cost guide (published 6 May 2026); Webential, Shopify development cost in Australia (published 5 May 2026). GST treatment not stated by either source.

What drives the price of a Shopify build
Two stores can both be called "a Shopify website" and cost ten times apart. These eight things explain most of the gap:
- Theme or custom design. Adapting a good theme is far quicker than designing and building every page from scratch.
- Number of products and variants. Importing and cleaning 50 products is a day. Importing 5,000 with sizes, colours and bundles is a project.
- Integrations. Each connection to Xero, MYOB, an ERP (your stock and ordering system), a warehouse or Australia Post adds setup and testing.
- Migration. Moving products, customers, orders and old URLs from WooCommerce, Magento or Neto needs redirects so you do not lose Google rankings.
- B2B and wholesale. Trade price lists, account logins and payment terms add work, and some need Shopify Plus.
- Custom features. Product builders, subscriptions and custom checkout rules need a developer or a custom app.
- Content and photos. Writing product descriptions and producing photos is often the most underestimated cost.
- Support after launch. Someone has to update apps, fix issues and add features. Ask who does it, and how.
Do it yourself, freelancer or agency?
| Do it yourself | Freelancer | Agency or Shopify Partner team | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Good fit | Testing a product, small catalogue | A polished theme store with some custom sections | Migrations, integrations, B2B, custom features |
| Main cost | Your time | Project fee or hourly rate | Fixed project fee, then optional support |
| Main risk | Slow launch, weaker result | Availability if they get busy or move on | Paying for more process than you need |
| Ask before you sign | How many hours can you really give it? | Who fixes it if something breaks after launch? | Who owns the code and accounts when the project ends? |
Five questions to ask any Shopify developer before you accept a quote:
Is the price fixed, and what is out of scope?
A fixed price only protects you if the scope is written down. Ask for a list of pages, features, apps and integrations included, and what happens if you add something later.
Does the quote include GST?
Published ranges often skip this. A 10% difference matters on a five-figure build, so ask for both numbers.
Which paid apps will my store need, and what do they cost?
A cheap build that depends on ten paid apps can cost more over two years than a build that uses fewer. Ask for the monthly app total before you sign.
Who owns the store, theme and accounts?
The Shopify account, domain, theme code and app accounts should be in your name. You should be able to change developers without starting again.
What happens after launch?
Ask how long launch support lasts, how fixes are charged after that, and who you contact. The expensive agencies are not the ones that charge more. They are the ones that disappear after launch.
How much does a Shopify website cost? Three first-year budgets
These examples add Shopify's verified plan prices (paid yearly) to the published market ranges above. They leave out card fees, which depend on your sales, and marketing. Treat them as a planning guide, not a quote.
| 1. Do-it-yourself starter | 2. Theme store, freelancer build | 3. Agency build with integrations | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan (12 months, paid yearly) | Basic: A$504 | Grow: A$1,368 | Advanced: A$5,172 |
| Theme | Free: A$0 | Premium: A$300 to A$560 | Included in the build |
| Build | Your own time | A$2,000 to A$10,000 | A$10,000 to A$50,000 |
| Apps (12 months) | Free apps only | A$600 to A$6,000 | A$600 to A$6,000 |
| .com.au domain | About A$15 to A$20 | About A$15 to A$20 | About A$15 to A$20 |
| First-year total | About A$520 to A$525 | About A$4,300 to A$17,950 | About A$15,800 to A$61,200 |
Plan prices: shopify.com/au/pricing, 26 September 2026. Theme, build, app and domain ranges: WP Creative (May 2026). Budget 3 excludes any monthly maintenance retainer. GST treatment of third-party ranges not stated by the source.
For a wider view of website budgets, including non-Shopify sites, see our website cost guide for Australia. If you are still choosing a platform, our best ecommerce platform in Australia guide compares Shopify with the main alternatives.
Nine ways to cut your Shopify costs in Australia
- Pay yearly. It saves A$168 a year on Basic, A$420 on Grow and A$1,728 on Advanced.
- Use Shopify Payments. It removes the third-party transaction fee of 2% on Basic.
- Add your ABN. If you are GST-registered, adding your ABN stops Shopify charging 10% GST on your subscription and shipping labels.
- Do not upgrade for fees alone too early. On domestic cards, Basic to Grow only pays for itself at about A$48,000 a month in card sales.
- Start with a free theme. Upgrade the design once you know what your customers respond to.
- Audit apps every quarter. Remove anything you installed for a test and forgot.
- Watch your card mix. Amex and international cards cost more. If most of your buyers are overseas, price that in.
- Scope before you build. A clear written scope is the cheapest way to avoid paying twice for the same feature.
- Look after SEO from day one. Fixing collections, titles and redirects later costs more than setting them up properly. Our ecommerce SEO service for Australian stores covers Shopify, and our SEO cost guide for Australia lists market ranges.
Where FactoryJet fits
We design, build and support Shopify stores for Australian businesses, from a first store to B2B and wholesale setups with Xero, MYOB and courier integrations. We are a registered Shopify Partner, we quote a fixed scope before work starts, and you own the store, theme and accounts. After launch we stay on to keep it running.
- Shopify development in Australia: new stores, migrations and Shopify Plus.
- Ecommerce development in Australia: custom and B2B commerce builds.
- Website maintenance in Australia: care plans after launch.
- FactoryJet Australia: everything we do for Australian businesses.
How we checked these numbers
We opened every source below on 26 September 2026 and found each number on the page. Shopify changes prices and fees from time to time, so the price in your own Shopify admin is always the one that counts.
- Shopify Australia pricing: plan prices, card rates, third-party fees, POS Pro, trial and marketplace fees.
- Shopify Plus pricing (Australia): Plus terms, variable fee, expansion stores and the 0.20% third-party rate.
- Shopify help: GST on bills in Australia.
- Shopify help: third-party transaction fees.
- Shopify help: payouts and settlement in Australia.
- WP Creative and Webential: Australian developer, agency, theme and app ranges (May 2026).
- Afterpay merchant fees, KC Web Design and Zip merchant costs.
- ATO: registering for GST and ACCC: consumer guarantees.
Get a fixed Shopify quote for your store
Share what you sell and what the store must connect to. We will tell you which Shopify plan fits, which apps you can skip, and what a fixed-scope build would include. You own everything we build.
Want this done for you?
Get a free, no-pitch plan for your site.
Tell us where to send it. Bhavesh, the founder, reviews every request himself and replies within 24 hours, often the same day. Most sites ship in about 7 days.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Shopify cost in Australia?
Is Shopify worth it in Australia?
How much does Shopify take from a $100 sale?
How much does it cost to hire a Shopify developer in Australia?
How much does it cost to hire a Shopify developer per hour?
How much do Shopify developers charge?
How much does it cost to hire a Shopify expert?
How much does a Shopify partner cost?
Is Shopify Plus worth it?
Which is better, Shopify or Shopify Plus?
How much is Shopify Plus per month in Australia?
How do I avoid Shopify transaction fees?
Is Shopify Payments better than PayPal?
Why is Shopify charging me $40?
What is the downside of using Shopify?
Is there a better option than Shopify?
What are some alternatives to Shopify in Australia?
What is the cheapest online store platform?
Is it cheaper to sell on Etsy or Shopify?
How much does a Shopify website cost?
Does Shopify charge GST in Australia?
What do Afterpay and Zip cost a Shopify store?
Is Shopify legal in Australia?
How much does Shopify SEO cost?
Is Shopify still worth it in 2026?

Bhavesh Barot
Founder & CEO
Founder & CEO of FactoryJet, an ecommerce and AI services company that has served 500+ businesses across the US, UK, UAE, and India. Writes about ecommerce builds, AI agents, and AI search.




